badsnake page head green
Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Bad's Blog

Going Nowhere

Pass me a note.

Heroes, Heartthrobs,
and Legionnaire Loyalists

Anenigma
August Dreams
Dichroic
Gawain
Grouse
Haptotrope
Lapisllong
Marn
Mechaieh
Miguelito
Oblivia
Pischina
Snowy
Zen Slut

The Cafe Diner 2002-05-05 4:03 p.m. Deb wasn't up for making breakfast this morning, so we piled into the cars (two because Sara's on call) and headed to the City Caf� Diner, which I say is a redundant name. Sara and Jake have been to this place before and liked the food, but they'd never been on a Sunday morning.

We walked in and this place was swamped with folks in their church clothes and the gospel soul Jesus music hour was cranked up pretty loud. To say we stuck out in the crowd would be a slight understatement. They seated us in a back room with marble tile walls, huge mirrors, and blue neon running around the edges of the ceiling. There was a nice view of the parking lot. And two framed pieces of patriotic "art" that was half American flag and half World Trade Center towers with the word "Remember" across the bottom. The larger of the two was hung in a corner, partially over one of the mirrors because there just wasn't enough unmirrored wall to accommodate it otherwise.

The song that had been playing when we walked in, which had lyrics that consisted mostly of the name Jesus, finally ended. Sara said, "I think that song was about Jesus."

Our waitress seemed a little nervous, like we might bite or something. At least when Sara and I went to IHOP last weekend, part of the waitstaff was gay. I got the feeling the folks inside this restaurant really don't see dykes that often. And yes, we were the only caucasians in the place. Well, Jake's not 100 percent caucasian, but the rest of us three are whitey white girls and there's no mistake about it. Being the minority is not an unusual thing for us in our neighborhood, but I don't usually feel intrusive. This morning I felt a little of the "we don't like seeing you in here" vibe. Not from everybody, just a little.

And we were really good as far as keeping the conversation decent, though I HAD to order the "jalepe�o hell hole omelette" when I saw it on the menu. I didn't really want an omelette, I just wanted an excuse to say "hell" in this restaurant. Yes, I do have my evil certificate. Well, we kept the conversation decent until we were the only party left sitting in the room. They weren't seating any new parties in there with us. We cleared it out. Then we felt it was okay to have a more normal breakfast conversation, which, for us, includes the word "ass" more frequently than for most other people.

The servings were huge. Pounds and pounds of food on each plate. I bet my omelette was made from four eggs, and the hash browns had to have been at least three potatoes. I hardly made a dent in mine, and together, Sara and I used almost half a bottle of ketchup. A side of bacon was six strips. The paper place mats featured an ad from a lawyer who says he can have your arrest records removed (*under certain circumstances). The toast was practically dunked in butter. The coffee was good.

By the end of the meal, our original waitress was replaced by one who was more friendly and relaxed, and a completely different waitress said goodbye to us on our way out, and she was genuinely congenial. All in all, a good breakfast.

Deb and Jake headed home while Sara and I went to Target together because I needed to pick out a new alarm clock, and she had a bunch of other stuff to buy. My old alarm clock has been knocked off my bedside table at least 400 times, mostly by the cats. Recently, the alarm part stopped working. And who could blame it. The glowy bits in the minute hand had fallen out, too, and were lying in the bottom of the clock face. Very sad.

I also got a mooing cow dog toy for Angel. She's not interested in it. Sara got bobble sumo wrestlers for her dashboard.

Moving on - 12:11 p.m. , 2007-08-14

Where the hell have I been? - 12:10 p.m. , 2007-02-19

Holy shit! - 2:24 p.m. , 2006-01-11

Stuffing recipe - 6:17 p.m. , 2005-12-13

Good Life Update - 10:22 a.m. , 2005-11-11

prev =|||= next

What do you have to say for yourself?
(comments on this particular entry)

0 instances of lip so far


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



My current Google Bingo card
-{SEX ME UP}-
All images on this site are �Badsnake unless otherwise noted.
DISCLAIMER�Dear government health agencies, concerned citizens, and slayers: Any mention of vampires, or other creatures of the night, or blood drinking of any kind in any context on this site is strictly pretend and is not meant to promote such practices or alliances with, or support of, undead persons in real life.

This RingSurf Gay Diary site is owned by Badsnake.
[ next | previous | random | list | join ]


This Redefining Beautiful website owned by Badsnake.
ringsurf

[ <-- | ? | --> | all ]

badsnake profile __ browse members __ recommend me __ get your own